Blog topic: Stipek’s profiles. Which of Stipek’s profiles fits you best for a given situation? Give at least 3 pieces of evidence that you fit this profile.

I could definitely relate to defensive dick, hopeless hannah, safe sally, satisfied sam and anxious amy at different times throughout my schooling. The one that I could think of that I could relate to most recently would be anxious amy. I am not completely like her but there are a few characteristics that are similar. Amy is an average student but does poorly in math. This is something that I relate a lot of my blogs to but it is something that is very true. I do pretty average in most subjects except for math. I don’t do horrible but it would be nice to have better grades in math. Like amy, when I take the state tests for math, I always pass but I don’t do the best. When I take exams in math class they aren’t always passing grades. Unlike amy, I don’t usually turn in exams  with answers not attempted. I always try to answer all of the questions even if I am not sure how to do them. Amy tried to go to the nurse and say she had a stomachache conveniently during the time of math class. I definitely did that a few times throughout high school. During college I haven’t missed a single math class yet and I don’t plan on it. Amy had bad performance in class because she was uncomfortable answering questions in front of the class. In high school I didn’t really experience this but I do remember a few times I had one teacher who made me get embarrassed by my answers to math questions. When I was asked a math question that I didn’t know I would either say I don’t know or I would give the question my best effort. If I gave my best effort and the answer was wrong I remember my teacher saying something like “not the right answer” or something like that. It was never a bad response but it still made me not want to answer all of his questions. In college I have not experienced this because math classes are a whole different thing. In my math recitation I always asked so many questions so I could understand the material to my best ability. Not a lot of the other students asked questions so in a way I was helping everyone out. In the reading it said that amy may be so prepared for a test but as soon as she sits in her desk to take her math test she can’t remember how to do the equation. This has happened to me numerous times on my math exams last semester. I would study so hard for the exam and then the night before I would review the material again but somehow when I took the test I couldn’t remember how to do some of the problems. Math is definitely not one of my favorite subjects.